creative 1975

Sweet Succulent Corn!

In Gardening, Non-Fiction on May 13, 2014 at 12:03 pm

sweet-corn

 

I call it corn-on-the-cob where I come from and I love it steamed with a dollop of butter melting all over the hot kernels, who doesn’t? Although it’s not butter that I really use! I use a healthier alternative spread of course! Nevertheless, this sweet yellow cob of joy was a pleasure to grow and picking it straight from its stalk and eating it the same day was delicious. I now have some in the freezer so that we can enjoy it through the winter months.

As well as steaming the corn you can boil it and I like to roast it too. You can also cut the kernels off to use in a stir fry.

The only difficulty I had growing the corn was the strong Nor’wester winds we get here in New Zealand and not forgetting the southerlies too, basically very windy! There were a few times I thought I might lose the crop, but luckily all was good. Putting the weather aside it was pretty easy.

Corn or maize derived from the American continent and is now grown all over the world. The sweet version was developed hence the name sweetcorn and there are varieties that differ in sweetness. When you crop sweetcorn, the darker the tassel the riper the sweetcorn will be. It’s a good source of carbohydrates, protein, fibre and minerals such as potassium, selenium, iron and zinc in addition to vitamin A (beta-carotene) and B vitamins Niacin and B6. The main phytochemicals in corn are carotenoids named lutein and zeaxanthin associated with protecting eye health.

IMG_4578   My corn before harvest!

I will definitely grow this again when the season comes around. It makes a wonderful staple in your diet through the summer months as it’s so versatile and as I mentioned above it can be frozen too, either in cobs or just the kernels.

 

IMG_4579

IMG-20140130-WA0002       Bon Appetite!

Leave a Reply

